SARASOTA, Fla., July 10, 2023 – The Board of Trustees of Marie Selby Botanical Gardens has elected Dr. Joel Morganroth as Chair and Teri A Hansen as Vice Chair for its 2024 fiscal year. The Selby Gardens Board also elected Bruce E. Sorensen, a managing director with financial-services firm Baird, to a three-year term as a trustee, and it reelected seven members to new three-year terms. All new Board terms began on July 1.

Morganroth is an academic cardiologist who specializes in the field of cardiovascular drug development. He has served on the editorial boards of several journals and published more than 350 articles and over two dozen books. Last year, Morganroth served as Vice Chair of Selby Gardens and chaired the Board’s Finance Committee.

Hansen is president and CEO of Charles & Margery Barancik Foundation, a private foundation dedicated to making a difference in Sarasota and beyond. She has more than 30 years of experience in philanthropic leadership, including previous roles as president and CEO of Gulf Coast Community Foundation and vice president at The Cleveland Foundation. Hansen chaired the Selby Gardens Advisory Committee for the past several years.

“Dr. Morganroth provided critical leadership as our Vice Chair and Finance Committee Chair over the past year, and we are fortunate that he will lead our Board as we open Phase One of our transformative Master Plan this fall,” said Jennifer O. Rominiecki, president and CEO of Marie Selby Botanical Gardens. “Teri Hansen also has been a vital leader and champion for Selby Gardens, and as chair of our Advisory Committee she has helped Selby Gardens engage a diverse and growing network of community leaders in advancing our mission.”

New Selby Gardens trustee Sorensen is managing director of Baird’s public finance group. He has over 30 years of industry experience, including expertise in local government, economic development, and charter school finance. He previously served on Selby Gardens’ Advisory Committee. “We are excited that Bruce Sorensen has joined our Board after his service on our Advisory Committee,” said Rominiecki. “His expertise in public finance and his commitment to community will serve Selby Gardens well as we continue to grow.”

The Selby Gardens Board also reelected Jean Weidner Goldstein, Katherine Martucci, and Margaret Wise to their third three-year terms as trustees and Daniel “Pat” Ball, Keith Monda, Mike Quillen, and Jeannie Russell to their second three-year terms. The other members of the Selby Gardens Board of Trustees are Aaron Bellamy, Morgan Bentley, Mary Braxton-Jospeh, Ariane Dart, Norbert P. Donelly, Renée James Gilmore, Marcy Klein, Cornelia Matson, Marianne McComb, Audrey Robbins, Pauline L. Wamsler, and President & CEO Jennifer O. Rominiecki.