You are here

2018 Annual Conference

2018 Conference

 

Cultivate Your Creative Nature

June 4-8, 2018
Southern California

 

Hosted by:

Descanso Gardens
Disneyland Resort
Huntington Library, Art Collections, & Botanical Gardens
Los Angeles Arboretum & Botanical Gardens
Rancho Santa Ana Botanic Garden
 
San Diego Botanic Garden
Sherman Library & Gardens
South Coast Botanic Garden 

Southern California is best known for its sand, surf and now, its SESSIONS! Join us in making the Association’s 2018 Conference a great one by submitting your trendsetting, innovative, and artful ideas that “Cultivate Your Creative Nature”. The Program Selection Committee is eager to review proposals that change perspectives and challenge tradition.

Make your mark and contribute to the American Public Gardening Association’s 2018 Annual Conference by submitting your session proposals today!

View our 2018 Call for Sessions brochure here.
 

Submitted before? Go straight to our Call for Sessions portal.

The deadline for presentation abstract submission is 3 pm ET November 1, 2017. 

 

New to this process? More details are listed below.

 

Tracks and Program Selection Committee:

With broad themes that represent overlap and collaboration between disciplines, five tracks reflect the work of our Professional Section communities and offer all participants the opportunity to share their diverse perspectives.

Whether you are new to the submission process or a veteran presenter, consider reaching out to a Program Selection Committee co-chair before you submit.  Are you wondering if any other gardens have a program or innovation like yours?  Are you looking for the right panelist to provide needed perspective for your great session idea? Co-chairs are experienced in a variety of public garden disciplines and are available to help members in designing and creating sessions and workshops for any track. These experienced professionals are available to help you, so do not hesitate to contact them to make your conference program a huge success!

The Living Landscape

Clayton Bass
CEO
Santa Fe Botanical Garden
(505) 471-9103
clayton@santafebotanicalgarden.org

Ray Mims
Conservation, Partnerships & Sustainability
United States Botanic Garden
(202) 409-1659
rmims@aoc.gov

Tom A. Smarr Jr.
Director of Horticulture
21st Century Parks, The Parklands at Floyds Fork
(502) 415-1457
tsmarr@21cparks.org

 

Collecting and Conserving

Dr. David C. Michener
Associate Curator
University of Michigan Matthaei Botanical Gardens & Nichols Arboretum
(734) 647-8711
mbgna.umich.edu

Dr. Damon Waitt
Director
North Carolina Botanical Garden
(919) 962-2184
dwaitt@unc.edu

Sara Helm Wallace
Director of Public Gardens
Trustees | Doyle Center
(978) 840-4446 ext. 1939
shelmwallace@thetrustees.org

 

Education and Communication

Dr. Ann Fleener
Director of Education
Myriad Botanical Gardens
(405) 445-7094
afleener@myriadgardens.org

Rebecca Wolf
Assistant Director
Queens Botanical Garden
(718) 886-3800
rwolf@queensbotanical.org

Tanya Zastrow
Director of Programs
Lady Bird Johnson Wildflower Center of the University of Texas at Austin
(512) 232-0122
tzastrow@wildflower.org

 

Making Friends, Making Money

Elisa Heikkila
Associate Director of Development
San Francisco Botanical Garden Society
(415) 661-1316 Ext. 312
eheikkila@sfbg.org

Missy Whisler
Senior Vice President of Sales & Development
Dallas Arboretum & Botanical Society
(214) 515-6500
mwhisler@dallasarboretum.org

Somer Sherwood White
Director of Advancement
Descanso Gardens
(818) 952-4389
ssherwood@descansogardens.org

 

Leadership, Innovation, and Advocacy 

Preston Bautista
Deputy Director for Public Programs & Audience Engagement
Indianapolis Art Museum
(317) 923-1331 x100
pbautista@imamuseum.org

Charles Hunter
Director of Horticulture, Acting
The Niagara Parks Commission
(905) 295-4396 ext.3259
chunter@niagaraparks.com

John Whisnant
Executive Director
Paul J. Ciener Botanical Garden
(336) 996-7888
jwhisnant@pjcbg.org  
 

Call for Sessions Proposal Submission:

Our online submission process is easy and allows you to compose abstracts securely and collaboratively with colleagues throughout the world, thus simplifying the authoring and submission process. 

Submission Opening: July 3, 2017, 3:00 p.m. ET
Submission Deadline: November 1, 2017, 3:00 p.m. ET

 

For More Information

Program Selection Committee Chair:
Tom A. Smarr Jr.
Director of Horticulture
21st Century Parks, The Parklands at Floyds Fork
(502) 415-1457
tsmarr@21cparks.org

Staff Liaison:
Sarah Beck
Program Manager, Current and Future Initiatives, American Public Gardens Association
610.708.3009
sbeck@publicgardens.org