You are here

Shane D. Smith

Board Position 
Director at Large

Shane Smith has a BS in Horticultural Science, and he attained his registration as a “Horticultural Therapist, (HT)” from the American Horticultural Therapy Association. In 1989-90, he served as a Loeb Fellow in Advanced Environmental Studies at Harvard University.

Since its inception in 1977 to 2017, Smith has been the director of the Cheyenne Botanic Garden. In 2017 he transitioned to Director, Friends of the Cheyenne Botanic Garden. As Wyoming's only public botanic garden, Cheyenne Botanic Garden encompasses 9 acres of developed grounds, one of the nation’s oldest and largest solar-heated and solar-powered greenhouses, and the recently opened Paul Smith Children’s Village, which is the nation’s first public children’s garden to receive LEED Platinum designation. In August of 2012 Cheyenne voters approved a $16 million renovation and expansion of the Cheyenne Botanic Garden’s solar heated greenhouse/conservatory on an optional sales tax. Additionally, Smith is currently in the early stages of developing the 62-acre High Plains Arboretum sited on the site of a former USDA horticultural research station. The Gardens have received recognition awards from Presidents Reagan, Bush (senior) and Clinton. He is the author of the “Greenhouse Gardener's Companion”, released in 1982 and now in its 3rd ed. In 1982, he also wrote “The Frost Free Greenhouse,” one of the first books on “high tunnels”. He has had a continual involvement in bringing gardening to the public via radio. Since 1978, he has the longest continually running regularly scheduled radio program in the Cheyenne on KFBC AM. He has lectured nationally on gardening, horticultural therapy, greenhouses, public garden design and community greening in 27 different states, Mexico, Venezuela and Canada

Smith is the recipient of The Community Hero award from Wyoming Governor Geringer; the Wyoming Business Council Award of Excellence; the 2011 Award of Merit from the American Public Garden Association; the 2012 Great Gardener Professional Award from the American Horticultural Society; and the 2012 National Garden Clubs Award of Excellence for his contributions to gardening and horticulture.