2014 Award Recipients

APGA Awards
The American Public Gardens Association (APGA) Awards is the professional horticulture industry's best showcase for the most influential, thought-provoking individuals and organizations. These award winners set a professional precedent for other individuals and organizations to follow.


Honorary Life Member











Kris Jarantoski, Executive Vice President and Director, Chicago Botanic Garden


Award of Merit











Dr. Robert Lyons, Program Director and Profession, Longwood Graduate Program/University of Delaware













Panayoti Kelaidis, Senior Curator and Director of Outreach, Denver Botanic Gardens


Professional Citation











Chris Carmichael, Associate Director, University of California Botanical Garden












Dr. David Michener, Associate Curator, Matthaei Botanical Gardens and Nichols Arboretum, Univeristy of Michigan
(Pictured:  David Price, Dr. Casey Sclar, Dr. David Michener, and Gwen Stauffer).


APGA Service Award











Linda Eirhart, Director, Horticulture, Winterthur Museum, Garden, and Library 
(Pictured: Dr. Casey Sclar, Linda Eirhart, Scott LaFleur).



The Garden Club of America Hope Goddard Iselin Fellowship in Public Horticulture














Christopher Watson, University of Washington (award presented and accepted on behalf of Christopher by Catherine Hubbard).


Award for Program Excellence











The Fairchild Challenge, Fairchild Tropical Botanic Garden (Amy Padolf accepting)
(Pictured: Amy Padolf, Patsy Benveniste, Dr. Casey Sclar, Catherine Hubbard).



Horticulture Magazine Award of Garden Excellence











Longwood Gardens (Sharon Loving accepting)


Student Travel Award 











Erica Anderson - Cornell University
Joyce Chery - Harvard University
van Constantine - University of Maryland
Lauren Garcia - Texas A & M University
Melissa Kitchen - Cornell University
Justin Kondrat - Cornell University
Stephanie Kuniholm - Morris Arboretum
Kate Nowell - University of Washington
Miles Schwartz Sax - Cornell University
Katie Schulman - Florida Gulf Coast University
Emma Van de Water - Cornell University
Jason Veil - University of Delaware



(Photo Credit (all):  Scott Dressel-Martin/Denver Botanic Gardens).